Follow These 8 Steps to File Income Tax in 190 Seconds

step-by-step-guide to filing income tax return ITR

Struggling to figure out how to file income tax return. Here is a step-by-step guide for salaried individuals to file income tax in just 190 seconds.

If you new to E-filing your Income Tax return, then read this guide on how to register and complete the process of income tax efiling.

  • Step 1: Download ITR1 software for 2018 from here.
  • Step 2: Prepare the Return using the downloaded Software
    • Pre-populate the personal details and tax payments/TDS by clicking on the ‘Pre-fill’ button. Compare with the information you have to ensure that nothing is left out.
    • Enter all data and click on ‘Calculate’ to compute the tax and interest liability and final figure of Refund or Tax payable
    • If Tax is payable- remember to pay immediately and enter the details in appropriate schedule. Repeat above step so that tax payable becomes zero
    • Generate and save the Income Tax Return data in XML format in your PC/Laptop
  • Step 3: Login to an e-filling website with the User ID (PAN Card), Password, Date of Birth, and enter the Captcha code.
  • Step 4: Go to e-File and click on “Upload Return”.
  • Step 5: Select the appropriate ITR, Assessment Year and XML file previously saved in Step 2 (using browse button).
  • Step 6: A pop-up will be displayed asking you to digitally sign the file. In case you have obtained a digital signature, select’˜Yes’. If you have not got a digital signature, choose ‘No’.
  • Step 7: Click on “Submit Button”
  • Step 8: If ITR is uploaded with DSC, the Return Filing process is complete. If the return is not uploaded with DSC, check following steps:
    • Take a printout of the form ITR-V and sign it in blue ink
    • Send the form by ordinary or speed post to the Income-Tax Department-CPC, Post Bag No. 1, Electronic City Post Office, Bangalore, 560 100, Karnataka within 120 days of filing your returns online.
And you are done 🙂 Feel free to post your queries in comments.

Written by

Ajitesh Abhishek